MoCA network question.

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by branko, Mar 4, 2019.

Tags:
  1. branko

branko New Member

Mar 4, 2019
    I'm new to MoCA network idea, still trying to wrap my head around it what exactly do i need and I apologize if this was answered before.

I currently have Tivo BOLT. with MoCA capability, connected to internet via WiFi.
    I'd like to add a new mini Tivo and it would be a hustle to get an Ethernet cable to both BOLT and Mini.

-May i create MoCA network using the ActionTec ECB6200 Bonded MoCA 2.0 bonded network adapter at the router and then use the same network to connect a PC to internet as well as BOLT and Mini?
    -I understand that the PC will need another network adapter, true?
    -Would that create another MoCA network, competing with TiVo?

Much appreciated!

2. krkaufman

krkaufman TDL shepherd

Nov 25, 2003
    Yes, that’s MoCA’s purpose, and that’s what you’d likely need to do if the modem/router location is the only location with Ethernet connectivity. Though, unless you already own the ECB6200, the Motorola MM1000 could save you some money providing equivalent capabilities.

Yes, that would be the best plan of action, assuming the PC isn’t located with the BOLT (and maybe even if it is).

You can also pair the MoCA adapter at the PC with a GigE network switch if you have other Ethernet-capable devices co-located with the PC that you would like networked. Similarly, a MoCA-client BOLT can be leveraged to extend wired connectivity to co-located Ethernet devices, per this post: Extending wired connectivity at a MoCA-client TiVo DVR.

No, the PC’s MoCA adapter would be just another node on the MoCA network.

Among other things, such as reviewing coax connectivity between locations and noting the connecting components, you’ll want to get a “PoE” MoCA filter installed. (more info on the “PoE” MoCA filter >here<)

3. branko

branko New Member

Mar 4, 2019
    Thank you! That helps a lot!