MoCA confusion

Discussion in 'TiVo Bolt DVR/Streamer' started by moogys, Apr 12, 2017.

1. moogys

moogys New Member

Oct 7, 2009

Advertisements

I am just learning about MoCA and trying to set up a network but just can't seem to get things to line up.

Internet Provider: FIOS
    Router: ActionTec MI424RW (MoCA Bridged) with an ASUS RT-AC1900 Client via ethernet
    MoCA Extender: Actiontec WCB6200Q
    TIVO: Bolt and Premiere 4 (both only access is Coax or wireless)

So after buying a Bolt, wireless connection just does not cut it anymore. My plan was to connect the MoCA extender I just bought to coax and then ethernet form extender to the TIVO Bolt. And then somehow connect the Premiere via coax/MoCA as a client. That did not seem to work. I can't help but think there is an easy solution here but I am not seeing it. Is there a MoCA wizard out there who may be able to show me the light?

Fant likes this.
  2. krkaufman

krkaufman TDL shepherd

Nov 25, 2003
    I've gotta go do some yard work, so can't be of much help. But before I run...

You say you have a "Premiere 4"... is that a 4-tuner Premiere or a 2-tuner Premiere? (2-tuner Premieres do NOT have any MoCA functionality.) If it's a 2-tuner Premiere, you'll need a MoCA adapter to provide it with a wired network connection, or switch it with the BOLT, since the BOLT can connect as a MoCA client and the 2-tuner Premiere could connect to the WCB6200Q's Ethernet switch.

Otherwise, your FiOS setup is obviously MoCA'fied, so you should really just need to make sure the rooms you're looking at are connected back to the same coax lines, ideally connected using MoCA-compatible splitters?

3. moogys

moogys New Member

Oct 7, 2009