Mini only Works on Ethernet, Not Co-Ax???

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by airstreamingypsy, May 25, 2020.

1. airstreamingypsy

airstreamingypsy New Member

Aug 1, 2009

Advertisements

Hello,

Newbie here. I've had Tivos for years, the last one being Directv. I just dropped DTV and now have cable. Since I couldn't live without Tivo, and Tivo remotes, I checked craigslist. Found a Nice Series 5 Roamio, with lifetime service, along with it's Mini friend. Got the Roamio up and running, after calling Tivo and switching both boxes in my name. Hooked the Mini up, no joy on co-ax, works great on ethernet cable. The co-ax set up is...... Cable from Spectrum comes in house. Attached it to splitter. Co-ax from splitter to Arris internet box, to Roamio and to Mini. Cable from Spectrum also comes into bedroom, where mini is, but that didn't work so I attached different coax to the splitter that works for everything else. Still no joy. I saw instructions that said to make MoCA network, my Roamio doesn't give me the choice to make a network. The Roamio is connected to wifi as well as cable. Why does the mini only work on ethernet? I want it to work on one of the two co-axes I have in the bedroom, either the one from the splitter or the one from Spectrum.

2. SullyND

SullyND W: 12-7 TCF Club

Dec 30, 2004
    Chicago Burbs
    The mini works with moca (coax). Depending on your Roamio you might need a moca adapter. Six-tuner Roamios have moca built in (this is how I run mine) four-tuner Roamios did not have moca built in.

3. ThAbtO

ThAbtO TiVoholic by the bay TCF Club

Apr 6, 2000
    SF Bay Area
    Any chance there were any left over splitters/connectors from DTV, they would be using DECA which may block MoCa.
    What model Roamio, since only the 6 tuner models have MoCa Built-in, 4 tuner models do not. Your router would need either MoCA (if capable) turned on, or a MoCa adapter at this end.