Min reboot loop at "welcome! starting up..."

Discussion in 'TiVo Mini' started by marklyn, May 31, 2015.

1. marklyn

marklyn Member

Jan 21, 2002
    Austin
    So last week my master bedroom mini was in a reboot loop at the "Welcome! Starting up..." screen. Nothing I tried fixed the problem, called Tivo and they couldn't get it working as well. They had me temporarily hook up my guest bedroom mini, which of course worked and I left it that way until I got a replacement for the master bedroom.
    Now, today, my guest room mini is doing the same thing after I hooked it up for the first time. Reboot loop at the welcome screen.
    I'm apprehensive about calling Tivo again since they initially seemed reluctant to replace my mini for my master bedroom at a minimal cost and transferred/waived the lifetime service to the replacement.

I'll keep futzing with it but I'm afraid I'm going to have to call again. This doesn't bode well with me. My Roamio and two mini's are only 18 months new, with over $1000 investment in equipment and lifetime service on everything. I didn't realize that if one died I'd have to buy a new lifetime. Could this be the life expectancy for a mini?

I'd appreciate any suggestions.

*update* I've rebooted my Roamio, unplugged everything from mini, still in reboot loop.

Last edited: May 31, 2015
  2. fcfc2

fcfc2 Well-Known Member

Feb 19, 2015
    Hi,
    Check your Tivo account and see if both the new and old mini are activated. Other thoughts, force a connection to Tivo with your Roamio.
    Put the guest mini back in your bedroom and see if it will boot there.
    Did you just buy another mini directly from Tivo? The minis are substantially cheaper from Ebay or Amazon, the V1 / 92000 $108, V2 /93000 are $137.32. All mini's have lifetime included now.
    Invest in one or more UPS and use them for your Tivo equipment.

With your luck, consider buying some lottery tickets.

3. marklyn

marklyn Member

Jan 21, 2002
    Austin