Mac Newb & TTG

Discussion in 'TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo' started by justkimberly, Oct 13, 2007.

1. justkimberly

justkimberly New Member

Oct 13, 2007

Advertisements

I am totally new to Mac (3 days old) and have installed Tivo Desktop. I can find where to start the server. I found the "hidden" video folder (thanks to this forum) and enabled that. I can now see my Mac on the Tivo itself. However, I cannot figure out where to start the actual Desktop app. I am used to the PC where I just go into the Desktop and it talks to my Tivo and I can select the list of videos to transfer from the Tivo. I just cannot figure out how to do that here on the Mac.

The only icon I have on the desktop is the TiVoDesktop, which appears as a mounted drive. Inside it is simply the install .pkg file. If I search for Tivo, spotlight returns a jar file under applications, my Tivo folders, and preferences. But, still, no where do I find the actual "desktop" prog to launch. What am I missing?

Like I said, I am a total Mac newbie. Been a very LONG time since I used Mac, and I did search through the forum but could not find this posted. TIA for any advice.

2. classicsat

classicsat Astute User

Feb 18, 2004
    Ontario Canada.
    You cannot download with TiVoDesktop on a Mac, only serve MPEG2 video. You can use the web interface to download, or Toast or Popcorn (I think).

3. bostlaw

bostlaw Member

May 16, 2005
    There are a few different ways to accomplish what you seem to want, but buying Roxio's Toast is the easiest...TTG built-in...

4. javabird

javabird Well-Known Member

Oct 12, 2006
    Seattle
    Welcome to the Mac community! There are a couple of ways to download Tivo shows to the Mac. The easiest way is to get Roxio Toast 8. It isn't free, but you might want to get it anyway for its ability to burn DVD's, convert Tivo shows for ipods, etc. Buy.com has a rebate on it right now.

You can also use the free TivoDecodeManager.

5. justkimberly