Mac help

Discussion in 'TiVo Series 1 - UK' started by dragonlord666, Aug 26, 2007.

1. dragonlord666

dragonlord666 New Member

Nov 2, 2005
    background info:
    I have a series 1 tivo and a windows xp laptop, these worked OK over the network I have. I had tivowebplus running and various other programs to download the tivo files. I disconnected from the network whilst I was on holiday and now my laptop won't work. it finds the network but will not connect to the net or the tivo.

Tivo (nickname = dobby) connects to the network and makes the daily call etc

Whilst on holiday I brought a MacBook Pro intel core 2 duo OS-X 10.4.10
    this found the network straight out the box and is surfing the net no problem.
    I'm beginning to get the OS - so long as I stop thinking like a PC user <grin>

Problem:
    OK how do I connect to my tivo so I can download programs etc
    (nice step - by- step guide would be great I'm not that good with the tivo/network thing)
    be nice if I can do all the stuff tivoweb did.

I searched the forums but got totally confused. I found a thead saying I could use tivowebplus on the mac but I had to change a line someplace - could not find any reference as to where or how.
    Also that I could use tivotool but the links for this indicate I have to install some "bits" on the tivo - again not telling how to get this onto the tivo (I've looked at terminal and managed to ping the tivo - it kept doing this until I pressed crtl + c)

so can anyone tell me
    1) what I need to get dobby & mac talking
    2) how I get everything where I need it to be.

I guess the forum might not be the best place to do this so you can email me at
    dragonlord666 AT gmail DOT com
    unless others need a "how to - for dummies" as well LOL

TIA

Gaz
    (dragonlord666)

2. RichardJH

RichardJH New Member

Oct 7, 2002
    Hanworth....
  3. dragonlord666

dragonlord666 New Member

Nov 2, 2005