Low internet speeds after enabling MOCA

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by Jose MJR, Nov 25, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Jose MJR

Jose MJR New Member

Nov 25, 2019
    My download speeds before enabling MOCA are in the neighborhood of 200 mbps. After enabling MOCA, the speed drops down to around 15 mbps. I tested it by disabling the MOCA and the speeds went up to normal levels again. Does anyone know what could be causing this?

I'm new to TIVO and i'm really enjoying my bolts and minis.

2. kpeters59

kpeters59 Well-Known Member

Jun 19, 2007
    Houston, Texas
    You've probably got a DOCSIS 3.1 Modem and MoCA is clashing with it.

Try manually moving your MoCA Channels up to a higher frequency and see if that helps.

Are you using the MoCA built in to your router?

-KP

3. Jose MJR

Jose MJR New Member

Nov 25, 2019
    I checked under the modem and it is indeed a 3.1 DOCSIS. I'm using the MOCA bridge from the bolt; i haven't changed the settings on the router or modem. I'll check to see if the MOCA is enabled on the router by default.

I did try switching the channels to different frequencies but that did not help.

I also ordered POE filters from Amazon and they should arrive tomorrow. I hope that eliminates the issue.

4. kpeters59

Jun 19, 2007
    Houston, Texas
    Do it this way:

Unplug every MoCA device, except the router.

Change the MoCA channel on the router to a pretty high frequency.

Plug in the next MoCA device. Probably the TiVo, or the next most critical device.

Let it detect the new MoCA Channel, or reconfigure Network settings until it connects at the higher channel.

Repeat, one at a time, for the remaining MoCA devices.

Report back...

-KP

5. Jose MJR

Jose MJR New Member

Nov 25, 2019
    How would I change the MOCA channel on my wireless router? I checked the documentation for my Netgear Nighthawk 7300 and it does not mention anything regarding MOCA.

6. kpeters59

Jun 19, 2007
    Houston, Texas