Limitations of S1 v.s. S2?

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by trburwell, Dec 14, 2006.

1. trburwell

trburwell New Member

Dec 12, 2006

Advertisements

Ok, so I'm thinking of buying a used S1 (sony svr-2000) with lifetime service, and upgrading the drive, or adding dual drives to make it record more hours.

I'm a newbie to S1, but I'm familliar with the S2 Humax, as I set one up for my Mom about a year ago.

Should I try to find a S2 box with lifetime?

I'm thinking the S1 Sony srv-2000 has the basic features I want, but I'm afraid the limited upgradeability will be a bummer. What is the max number of hours that can acheived with S1? It looks like weaknees and tivo have upgrade kits up to 250 hrs or so. Is this the max? or can it be higher?

Thank you for your thoughts and experience.

Tim

2. LifeIsABeach

LifeIsABeach Active Member

Feb 28, 2001
    Drexel Hill, PA
    Not sure about the max hours, but here is some info.

Limitations of the Series 1:
    1. No network support without hacking and adding a card
    2. No TiVo-To-Go
    3. No Scheduling programs online
    4. No folders
    5. No recently deleted folder
    6. Won't get any new features which may come out

Advantages of Series 1:
    1. Most can be used as a manual recorder without a subscription
    2. More hackable (see the Underground Forum for much more info)
    3. Won't get any new features which may come out (some see this as a plus since new features sometimes bring new bugs as well).

3. stevel

stevel Dumb Blond TCF Club

Aug 23, 2000
    Nashua, NH
    There's no limit on the max hours. At most you'll have to install an "LBA48-aware" kernel, but I think (not sure) that as of software version 3.5, you don't need to do that.

4. mattack

mattack Well-Known Member

Apr 9, 2001
    sunnyvale
    No folders but there is limited sorting.

Hit SLOW 0 RECORD THUMBS-UP in Now Playing, then you can use 1 2 3 to change the sorting criterion.

5. mick66