Let's talk about ways to save shows to DVD!!

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by hummingbirdbleu, Aug 17, 2007.

1. hummingbirdbleu

hummingbirdbleu New Member

Aug 16, 2007
    I'm fairly new to TiVo, but I am in LOVE!! I purchased the Toshiba SD-H400 and silly me! thought I had bought the model with the built in DVD burner. Since I didn't, I am trying to find an alternate way to save some of the shows to disk. I would be thrilled if you have any suggestions. I have Lifetime Plus service on the TiVo and a mac computer.

Thank you!!! :)

2. mattack

mattack Well-Known Member

Apr 9, 2001
    sunnyvale
    The easiest way: get an external DVD recorder.

I would suggest getting a DVD recorder _with_ a hard drive even if you think you don't want one.

Then you simply "save to VCR" (or just start playing -- save to vcr adds the IMHO nice title page at the beginning and prevents easily hitting a remote button and wrecking the recording -- though it will put icons on the screen and on the second hit put up a prompt.. but it still is useful imho) to the hard drive on the other recorder.

Then you can edit the recording and burn to DVD.

Though if your Toshiba is a series 2, you can also use the 'home media options' to transfer the shows over a network to the computer. I don't know what sort of editing/burning is doable after that, but I know it is doable. (I have series 1s and series 3s, the former which never have been able and the latter which aren't currently able to do the save-over-network thing. I would use it in the future though on my S3, at least for some things.)

3. captain_video

captain_video Member

Feb 28, 2002