Latest Linux License Limits TiVo

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by ChuckyBox, Jan 18, 2006.

1. ChuckyBox

ChuckyBox New Member

Oct 3, 2005

Advertisements

This story indicates that the People's Republic of Richard Stallman is trying to prevent all DRM from touching Linux. TiVo is mentioned specifically. I wonder if Hollywood will go to the mat over this?

Meanwhile, I don't see this affecting TiVo very much -- at least not in the near future.

2. jsmeeker

jsmeeker Notable Member TCF Club

Apr 2, 2001
    Dallas
    that's some alliteration.

3. ChuckyBox

ChuckyBox New Member

Oct 3, 2005
    If only this were the Lucent Community...

4. ZeoTiVo

ZeoTiVo I can't explain

Jan 2, 2004
    so is the Macrovision "code" in the GPL code or in the proprietary part that is licensed from TiVo in the EULA ? I have little depth of knowledge in the open soruce licenses but it seems like the GPL writers are setting restrictions on those that use the code that should not be set.

now on the flip side I have wondered if DRM pushers would start looking at the open source code like MythTV and start gunning for them so I can see this is a defensive posture on the part of the GPL writers

5. davezatz

davezatz Funkadelic

Apr 18, 2002
    Fairfax, VA

Advertisements

So let's say one day TiVo is required to comply with a newer version of the GPL which limits how they manipulate data... Instead of being strong-armed into opening everything up (no DRM) and ceasing metric collection, they'll dump Linux. Then they'll create a closed, proprietary system that can't be hacked, that doesn't support third party network adapters, etc. And we'll be worse off. ;)

6. wangmaster

wangmaster New Member

Mar 22, 2004
    a couple of things to think about:
    1) current software isn't going to magically be re-licensed to gpl v3.
    2) linux still has to adopt gpl v3 (no reason why they won't stay at gpl v2)