kmttg not decrypting as expected?

Discussion in 'TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo' started by SimonS3, Mar 25, 2016.

1. SimonS3

SimonS3 New Member

Aug 19, 2008
    I recently downloaded kmttg ver. n to update from ver. i
    Now when I choose to decrypt, they don't end up in the expected .mpg format but instead are all left as .ts files in the destination folder.

Then ver. o just got release and I updated to that and tried doing the same but still decryption result in .ts files instead of the expected .mpg format?!?

All previous versions from 'i' and before experiences were working just fine (ie. to say I am not a complete newbie ;) [TiVoLibre is checked off... ie. on]

Any idea what's going on?

2. moyekj

moyekj Well-Known Member

Jan 23, 2006
    Mission...
    The default now is to download TiVo files in TS container, so when those are decrypted they are intentionally given .ts suffix to distinguish from .mpg which is PS container. If you want PS downloads turn off Transport Stream Format option under config--Program Options.

3. justen_m

justen_m Cheesehead

Jan 14, 2004
    Boise, ID
    IME, VLC, WMP and even WMC will play .ts files fine, but the Win10(8.1?) Movies&TV App will not.

4. SimonS3

SimonS3 New Member

Aug 19, 2008
    'Faster' aside, what other benefits by defaulting to TS container and does it hold true to current .tivo files content?

Do I have the mistaken impression that most third party vid apps/software being more 'receptive' to .mpg format? [OS platform variations?] whether playback or future manipulations are a consideration...

5. moyekj

moyekj Well-Known Member

Jan 23, 2006
    Mission...