Just picked up an (older) HD Tivo - Advice?

Discussion in 'TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs' started by Luclin999, Jun 7, 2011.

1. Jun 7, 2011 #1 of 11
    Luclin999

Luclin999 New Member

Apr 21, 2006
    Hello,

I am new to the HD Tivos (I have an old Toshiba Tivo/DVD box) but I went ahead and bought a Tivo model TCD652160 on clearance from a local store.

However, once I got home and looked around on the web I saw that there were newer "Premier" models available now and am wondering if I should open the box and use the one I just bought or sell it an consider getting one of the newer machines.

Are there enough differences between the model I just bought and the "Premier" Tivos to be worth it?

2. Jun 7, 2011 #2 of 11
    Joe01880

Joe01880 I love my TiVo

Feb 8, 2009
    Boston
    Keep the HD, the Premiere doesnt have enough changes to go to any trouble. The Premiere will do Hulu-Plus but so do a lot of other devices and probably better.

3. Jun 7, 2011 #3 of 11
    dwit

dwit Active Member

May 4, 2004
    Atlanta, GA
    If you plan on getting a lifetime subscription-a one time $500 payment-then I would go with the Premiere. It can be had from $65 to $100 for the Tivo box itself. The Premiere is a more capable machine and is the latest platform, of course. The Premiere is capable of streaming which apparently is not something not in the plans for the Tivo HD. The main drawback for the Premiere is, if you are not going with the one time lifetime subscription, is it has a very high monthly cost($19.95 per month).
    Actually, Tivo is basically offering the Premiere free if you get it directly from them(Tivo.com) and committ for 2 years(24 months x $19.95). Check the details on that though, because it is a new promotion that just started. But as you can see for that amount, you can basically buy one from Amazon, etc, for about $75 to $80 and get the lifetime subscription for $500, which is not too much more than the 2 year committ plan.