Just got HD digital, and now, no Tivo!

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by wildberrysdeliri, Jul 13, 2007.

1. wildberrysdeliri

wildberrysdeliri New Member

Jul 13, 2007
    Bay Area...

Advertisements

we got an HDTV so that means we need comcast digital HD. They came today to install, and we were forced to get their DVR. They disconnected my Tivo and said they don't reinstall Tivo, only their own box. How unfair! I miss my beloved Tivo, but I don't think it can handle or record HDTV. Is that right? This site is a labryenth and I don't know if this topic has been covered. I'm not an expert Tivo user, but I've had it for 3 years. We have a 2004 series 2 40 hr box. any suggestions? I really hate this Comcast DVR.

2. jrm01

jrm01 New Member

Oct 17, 2003
    Pittsburgh
    The series 2 Tivo will not handle HD broadcasts. However, you could continue to use the S2 for analog stations by splitting the coax cable before the Comcast box and running one coax feed directly to the S2. In most cases this will allow you to watch and/or record channels 2-99 (depending on the analog feed by your local provider).

What do you mean "you were "forced to get their DVR"? You should always have options as to what HD feed you will use. You could use their DVR, their HD Box, Cablecards (if you have a device that supports them), or just un-encrypted HD with direct coax and internal QAM tuner (if your set has one).

If you enjoy Tivo, your best option would be the Series 3, which will provide the Tivo solution for HD.

3. wildberrysdeliri

Jul 13, 2007
    Bay Area...
    The HD reciever box is a DVR. Thats the only option presented to get HD from comcast. They said we could split the cable and use Tivo for the lower channels.Thanks

4. wildberrysdeliri

Jul 13, 2007
    Bay Area...