Just got a new HDTV, tivo doesn't look the same.

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by Shanezam203, Jul 28, 2007.

1. Shanezam203

Shanezam203 Member

Jul 27, 2007

Advertisements

Hi All, I have been using my Tivo Lifetime for the last 2 years and I LOVE it.
    In other rooms, I have Comcast DVR's (FREE from comcast) and I love my Single Tuner Tivo 100 times better. :)

I bought a new 42" Samsung HD TV and I have my Tivo in Input 1, and my Comcast HD Cable Box in Input 2 (for HD and HBO) and the picture isn't as clear as it was on even my 24" tv with the Tivo.

I went through the channels 0-99 and when I have the Tivo on with my new TV, the picture is not as crisp. The color isn't like it should, and the picutre just isnt how I am used to. And this TV is twice the size and 6 years newer technology, so I was confused.

When I go to Input 2, my Comcast DVR, even channels 1-99 that is Digital, but not HD look PERFECT on the new TV. Then the HD channels look even better, but that is HD.

My question is why does my TIVO not act as a digital cable box channels 1-99 with my new Samsung TV, and get as clear and crisp of a picture on this new TV but the Comcast Digital Cable box does?

2. Mikeyis4dcats

Mikeyis4dcats Well-Known Member

Oct 2, 2003
    SD cable will never look better on an HDTV than on an old CRT

3. jfh3

jfh3 Active Member

Apr 15, 2004
    Denver area
    Because you have a Tivo Series 2 box (I suspect), which is an analog box and shows analog version of 1-99.

Sounds like your cable service is using ADS, so a digital box will show the digital versions of 1-99.

If you want Tivo+digital, get a new TivoHD box and use it in place of your cable box.

4. Shanezam203

Shanezam203 Member

Jul 27, 2007
    yeah, that's what it looks like. It is a Series 2 Tivo box, with Lifetime.

Using it on a Standard TV, it looked 100%. Now using the same box on an HDTV looks BAD.