Is it me or is DirecTV HD a ripoff?

Discussion in 'DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers' started by BBQ Chicken, Dec 23, 2005.

1. BBQ Chicken

BBQ Chicken Bling Bling

Nov 26, 2002
    west coast
    I'm new to HD, just got a set. I have directv currently with my old tv and enjoy it, but it seems like it will be a big pain to upgrade to HD because to get local channels I will have to set up a huge antenna? And if I want to record I'll have to buy a 600 dollar tivo and get a new sattelite dish, also it doesn't look like DirecTV has many channels in HD anyway. I can't stand watching standard TV on my new set now, it looks awful.

From what I understand i could for a whole lot cheaper get HD and a DVR from comcast and not have to worry about using an antenna for locals.. or would I? This is all so confusing, I just want to watch NFL games in HD.

2. bidger

bidger Active Member

Mar 30, 2001
    Elmira, NY
    Well, it's your call. All I know is when they offered the $299-$100MIR deal in August, I jumped on it. Still waiting on the rebate though, supposed to show up this week. I get two networks in HD, CBS and FOX (crucial for the NFL), and there's only one local station broadcasting in HD, NBC, that would require my putting up an antenna. That's one of the reasons I've delayed on that. I'm getting the HD package for $6 mo. until the middle of next month and I'll see what might get added and make a decision then. If all new channels are for MPEG-4 only and I'm not offered a free switch, I'll probably cancel.

"West Coast" is a really vague location description, so I'll assume you know whether or not if MPEG-4 locals are available where you are. I'll also assume you don't qualify for distants. If it were me and I could get all of the networks in HD instead of just one, I'd have put that antenna up awhile ago.

3. nhaigh

nhaigh Member

Jul 16, 2001
    Lawrencevill...