Is a NON-Tivo Power Supply an option?

Discussion in 'TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs' started by darklyte, Dec 4, 2015.

1. darklyte

darklyte Joe

Sep 16, 2003
    New York, NY

Advertisements

Has anyone tried using a non-TiVo PSU on their unit?

Given the cost, age and availability of original TiVo power supplies for the Series 3 where they are about $50 - $100 depending on what you track down, does anyone have experience or thoughts on options for putting in a new easily available, off the shelf type PSU?

There is the size/fit issue seems to be the main barrier but perhaps there is something out there that might work.

I wouldn't think the wattage would need to be an exact match as TiVo would just pull what it needs but I'm not an expert so could be wrong.

For example, a PicoPSU would seem like it could fit, though the connection on the back of the TiVo box would be pretty ugly and require some DIY skills.
    http://www.mini-box.com/Power-Supplies-Kits

Anyone have thoughts on why this would/wouldn't work and suggestions for power supplies that could be a fit?

2. dianebrat

dianebrat wait.. I did what? TCF Club

Jul 6, 2002
    boston'ish
    The original Tivo PS is simple and easy to keep healthy with a handful of commonly available capacitors, why would I want to reinvent the wheel? any custom work is more work than replacing the caps IMNSHO.

3. darklyte

darklyte Joe

Sep 16, 2003
    New York, NY
    Definitely see your point that replacing capacitors is much cheaper and easier for someone with the experience and the equipment.

For me, it would be at least $40 to buy the soldering equipment, capacitors, etc. and hope I don't blow-up anything. :eek: I'm not opposed to this and may try anyway, seems a good investment.

But was thinking if I could get a brand new, non-TiVo PSU circa 2015 instead of 2007 it might be more reliable, comparable cost and easier to deal with/replace for those of us lacking soldering skills.

4. unitron

unitron Well-Known Member