Humax & HD direct box question

Discussion in 'DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers' started by antpeople, Jul 23, 2007.

1. antpeople

antpeople New Member

Feb 4, 2007
    phoenix
    Sorry, I searched the other threads for answers, but I am a novice and need some help.

I have a Humax with DVD and lifetime sub. (So, I keep that) and just got a HD tv. I have direct TV (starting to think, they don't like me anymore) I just had them come out and put a 5 LBN dish up and got a HD box. They told me it would all work together....but the contractor guy kind of sucked and now I have lost signal to my 1st tv (still running a S1 sony on that one) and can't use my TIVO on my second TV the HD.

Can I change the inputs to have one showing HD TV live and one to show live or recordableTV through the TIVO ( I know it won't be HD).

Hope this question is in the right place!!

Thanks!!

- julie

2. John T Smith

John T Smith New Member

Jun 17, 2004
    Vancouver WA
  3. antpeople

antpeople New Member

Feb 4, 2007
    phoenix
    My box is TIVO brand - it's has the lifetimemember ship. So I was trying to make the stand alone TIVO work with a stand alone Direct TV HD box work together.

I will also check out the other forum you listed!

Thanks.

Julie

4. JimSpence

JimSpence Just hangin'

Sep 19, 2001
    Binghamton, NY
    What DirecTV HD receiver do you have? If it is a standalone receiver (not a DVR) then your standalone TiVo may be able to control it. However, you can't record HD on the Humax. So use the high def outputs (component or HDMI) on the DirecTV HD receiver to view HD on the TV and the composite (red/white/yellow) from the DirecTV receiver to the TiVo to record SD. The the TiVo outputs go to another set of inputs on the TV.

5. antpeople

antpeople New Member

Feb 4, 2007
    phoenix
    I can't seem to register on the DBS forum!!

So, has anyone had any luck getting stand alone TIVOs to work with HD Direct TV boxes?

6. antpeople

antpeople New Member

Feb 4, 2007