Hulu+ Premiere VS HTPC

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by atmuscarella, Jun 3, 2011.

1. atmuscarella

atmuscarella Well-Known Member

Oct 11, 2005
    Rochester NY
    I have been using Hulu through a HTPC for several months and decided to use free month of Hulu+ TiVo/Hulu gave Premiere owners.

I signed up on the web and used the code in my Premiere. Went back into Hulu+ on the Premiere 30 seconds after entering the data in Hulu through my PC and they new who I was. Nice Job Hulu/Tivo

Both my Premiere and HTPC are connected via HDMI to my Onkyo TX NR807 receiver.

One interesting item I found out was if I am playing a show in Hulu on my PC that is available through Hulu+ and paused it and then went into Hulu+ on my Premiere it gives me the option to go right to the show and continue from the pause point. Not sure that is worth much but is interesting.

Another thing that was clear is that the picture is better on the Premiere than on my HTPC. I was surprised but the Premiere had a more accurate color and in low light scenes brighter/easier to see picture. This maybe a setup issue but I am not going to spend the time to find out.

Hulu made a great decision for their advertisers. 30 second and 1 minute commercials are to short to really do much else and you end up watching them when using the Premiere. On the HTPC it is easy to drop out of full screen and let the commercials play while you do something in another tab the sound alerts you to when to go back to your show.

In the evening I did have buffering more on my HTPC that I fixed to 720p output than on the TiVo which I am guessing may have at times dropped out of 720p at times. This is a function of my ISP not Hulu or TiVo.