How Does Amazon Prime Look On TiVo?

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by ADG, Nov 12, 2014.

1. ADG

ADG Allan

Aug 19, 2003
    New Jersey, USA

Advertisements

I've never used a streaming service before but am seriously thinking about signing up for Amazon Prime and have a couple of questions please.

1) I know it will work on my two Roamio units, but will it also work on a Premier Elite? Not a big deal, just nice if it does.

2) How does it look (does it load quickly, is it smooth or jumpy, any "glitches" during playback, etc.)? BTW, I use Ethernet connections as opposed to WiFi.

3) I have the Roamio Plus outputting to all "non-tivo" tv's in the house via RF. In other words, all content on that tivo is viewable on my sd tv's (kitchen, bath, etc). I'm guessing there would be no issue viewing Amazon Prime content in this manner, correct?

4) Are there any reasons you can think of NOT to subscribe to Amazon Prime access via TiVo?

Thanks in advance :)

2. bradleys

bradleys It'll be fine....

Oct 31, 2007
    It does not work on the Premiere line yet, TiVo has indicated they will deploy Amazon Prime and Vudu to the Premiere line in 2015.
    It works well, load time is a tad longer then I would like, but not terrible. Once you are viewing the video the picture jumps to highest quality very quickly. My only complaint about playback is not preview window during fast forward and rewind.
    There shouldn't be, if you are currently able to view content from your TiVo via this setup, Amazon wouldn't cause you any specific problems.
    It depends on what you are looking for - I have had Amazon Prime for quite a while for the shipping discounts. The streaming is a nice to have, but I wouldn't pay the Prime subscription for the streaming alone.

3. ADG

ADG Allan

Aug 19, 2003
    New Jersey, USA
    Great feedback bradleys - thanks very much.

4. ncted

ncted A leaf on the wind

May 13, 2007
    Durham, NC