How do I know if I need a Tuning Adaptor?

Discussion in 'TiVo Bolt DVR/Streamer' started by bcb1200, Nov 5, 2016.

1. bcb1200

bcb1200 New Member

Nov 5, 2016
    Hi folks:

Tivo newbie here. We are moving to a town in December that has Charter cable. It is pretty miserable. No multi-room DVR, etc. We are used to more "Modern" cable providers like Xfinity with X1 and Verizon Fios. Moving to Charter is like going back in time 10 years.

Anyway, I think Tivo Bolt+ will solve most of my issues with Charter. I plan on getting a Bolt+ with two mini's for 2 additional TV's (connected by wired Ethernet network.)

I know I need to add an M-Cablecard from Charter. No biggie.

My question is do I need to get a Tuning Adaptor from Charter as well? What determines if I need one or not?

I know from reading here that if I need a Tuning Adaptor that I need to split the cable coming out of the wall and connect one to TA and the other to Bolt+. And then connect TA to Bolt+ via USB.

Thanks,

2. JoeKustra

JoeKustra in the other Alabama TCF Club

Dec 7, 2012
    Ashland, PA...
    A TA is used to allow the headend to make a channel active and tell the TiVo what channel to tune. Here's a post that contains a pdf from TWC describing that info and showing channels affected. Your local provider may have something like it.TimeWarner Cable is dumping CableCard for Switched Digital Video

Also: Switched video - Wikipedia

3. hbherman

hbherman New Member

Nov 20, 2016
    I needed a tuning adapter when setting up my Bolt with Time-Warner. Otherwise, I couldn't see any of my authorized channels. At the end of setup, my cable connection went to the tuning adapter, and the tuning adapter was connected to the Bolt by two cables, on of which was a usb cable. I did not need a spliter. I followed the directions given me, set up the cablecard and tuning adapter online, and only one call to Time-Warner was required, because the cable card was missing one step.

4. dlfl

dlfl Cranky old novice