How Do I Connect TiVo

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by lorion11, Jan 9, 2006.

1. Jan 9, 2006 #1 of 16
    lorion11

lorion11 New Member

Jan 9, 2006

Advertisements

I have my Cable Internet go directly into my cable box, out from my cable box I hook up my Apple Airport Express wireless router to which my iBook connects (wirelessly). How do I connect my TiVo so it can do its daily call?

I am a bit of a newbie to home networking, but I saw something about Hubs and Switches. I want my TiVo to be wired dirctely instead of wirelessly since my Tivo, cable, and router are all near each other.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I did a search on several websites and didn't find my answer.

Thanks in advance!

2. Jan 9, 2006 #2 of 16
    JimSpence

JimSpence Just hangin'

Sep 19, 2001
    Binghamton, NY
    The Apple Airport is a router, so I assume it has wired ethernet connections? If so, then get an approved USB to ethernet adapter and connect to the router.

3. Jan 9, 2006 #3 of 16
    lorion11

lorion11 New Member

Jan 9, 2006
    It has USB and an ethernet plug that I use because it comes from the cable modem. I am not sure if a USB to ethernet Adapter would work. Because if I plug in the USB to the TiVo, where does the ethernet cable go?

4. Jan 9, 2006 #4 of 16
    titaniumtivo

titaniumtivo New Member

Mar 23, 2005
    You might make sure the Airport Express is compatible with the Tivo that you have.

If it is, then just plug a USB cable from the Tivo to the Airport Express.

See if that works, and let us know.

5. Jan 9, 2006 #5 of 16
    petew

petew Active Member

Jul 31, 2003
    Pittsburg, CA

Advertisements

The airport express is a wireless only router so you have 2 choices. Either replace the airport express with a combined switch/router or use a wireless network adpater for Tivo. Personally I'd replace the airport express and go wired.

6. Jan 9, 2006 #6 of 16
    petew

petew Active Member

Jul 31, 2003
    Pittsburg, CA