How can I get an RCA video output signal from a Bolt?

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by GeneD, Dec 31, 2016.

1. GeneD

GeneD New Member

Jun 26, 2002
    Boynton...

Advertisements

My new Bolt does not carry the video signal on the AV breakout cable like it did on the Roamio. I need this signal in order to feed a modulator I use for broadcasting a low definition analog signal to other parts of the house, which I have been doing for over 15 years. My wife will be very upset if she can't turn on channel 94 in other rooms of the house while she is working, and see what the TiVo is playing in the family room - it's just something she's gotten use to :) What is the simplest way to extract an RCA video signal from the HDMI output without interfering with the HD signal going to big screen television attached to the TiVo?

One complex solution might be to use some kind of HDMI splitter to create two signals, and then use a HDMI to composite converter on one of the outputs. I am hoping there is something simpler, but if I have to use the splitter/converter combination, I don't know what kind of splitter I need to avoid any problems with the signal going to the HD television. Can anyone advise me on this?

Thank you!

2. Jan 1, 2017 #2 of 27
    mdavej

mdavej Well-Known Member

Aug 13, 2015
    Get some Minis or stick with Roamio. Splitters and converters will work too but will give you the same crappy picture you had before. Time to leave you old solution in the 20th century where it belongs.

Last edited: Jan 1, 2017
  3. Jan 1, 2017 #3 of 27
    lew

lew Well-Known Member

Mar 12, 2002
    You already know the answer. HDMI splitter and some kind of HDMI to rca output adapter. It's the only way to give your wife the same experience she has now. Your wife doesn't like change.

You want some "better" ideas. How many TV sets are you talking about. How many of them have HDMI inputs? How often are they used?