Help - Camcorders and Tivo

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by aherron, Oct 27, 2007.

1. aherron

aherron New Member

Oct 26, 2007

Advertisements

I need help I am new to the whole Tivo world. I coach gymnastics and want to use Tivo with a camcorder so that my gymnasts can review their skills immediately in the gym...immediate video feedback.

I have 3 tivo units. They are all tivo series 2 dvr's. The first one I purchased used so it had been connected to Tivo service. I hooked the camcorder up to it through the video in and an rf out cable to the tv. Everything works fine, we have been using it in the gym and the kids love it.

The second 2 units I purchased brand new and no matter what I do or how I hook them up I can't get them to recognize the video input. What am I doing wrong? is there a way around this trouble? Do I need to activate the service to get the video input to work and then can I disconnect the service and it keep working? I do not need to use the tivo for watching TV just in the gym for watching gymnastics skills with the delay and slow motion features.

What is my best solution, try activating and go from there or is there a way I can copy the settings and system software from the one that is working onto the two new units? Any help would be appreciated, we love the system in the gym but want it at every event not just one area of the gym.

Thanks to all who respond.

2. windracer

windracer joined the 10k club

Jan 3, 2003
    St. Pete, FL
    It sounds like maybe the used box you purchased (the first one) had Lifetime service on it?

The boxes won't do anything without a subscription, that's probably why you can't record from the inputs on the other two.

Go into the System Information screen (on the first box) and see what the Service Level is.

Also, what models are these?

3. aherron

aherron New Member

Oct 26, 2007