hdtv tivo on a boat

Discussion in 'DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers' started by boatguy, Mar 19, 2004.

1. boatguy

boatguy New Member

Mar 19, 2004
    like many of you i pre-ordered and am waiting for the hdtv tivo. i'm new to tivo(have a couple of replaytv units) and have installed a kvh gyro dish and a jvc 26 lcd on a boat we use on weekends during the summer. there will be no power to the unit during the week and no phone line ever(except when i do the set it up at my home). during the weekend it will be powered up and down several times as the batteries/inverter are limited.
    i recently learned that the 110 satellite which carries the bulk of the hd programming was incompatiable with gyro dishes so my hd viewing will be limited to hdnet, hdhbo and hd pay per view
    i understand the units are not out yet and any help you may offer will be based on the existing non-hd versions so my issues are the following :
    1. how long does it take to power up these units from a cold start. i have a zenith 1080 at home and every time it loses power for a time it needs to go through a new channel search and setup. same here?
    2. channel surfing is not so quick on the replaytv's. is it the samewith tivo?
    3. anything else come to mind?
    now that i've learned the limitations of this satellite system, i'm considering a regular direct tivo for limited recording and commercial avoidance and a hi-def receiver to surf and watch the occasional hi def show.
    i appreciate any help or comments.

2. avewill

avewill New Member

Mar 19, 2004
    Well, I'm pretty new around here, and can only speak to regular definition (not HD) TiVo, but I think your lack of a phone line may pose a problem. It's my understanding that the TiVo needs to call in every week or 2 to download the latest schedule info. Other users here will probably be able to confirm/deny that.

3. bigpuma

bigpuma Well-Known Member

Aug 12, 2003
    Morgan Hill, CA