HDMI noob here-my tube TV died- my Series 2 has no HDMI ports; what next?

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by weblizard, Mar 23, 2011.

1. weblizard

weblizard New Member

Dec 28, 2004

Advertisements

My big old tube tv finally gave up the ghost. My family has chipped in to help me get a new HDTV (I'm underemployed these days). When I looked at the back of my Series 2 TiVo,cable box, and DVD/VCR, I realized that none of them have HDMI ports. Oh.
    Makes sense, none of them are exactly new. What brings me here is I apparently have to get something new for DVR functions, along with a new cable box.

I could be wrong here- are there converter cables with the three-headed audio/video plugs at one end & HDMI on the other?
    Skimming various sites, I see really mixed reviews on the Premier TiVo devices and not-so-hot reviews for the Optimum cableco DVR. I am utterly new to the HD world; should I be trying to find a used Series 3? What are you good people experiencing with your DVRs?

Thanks in advance!

2. LoREvanescence

LoREvanescence Always Autocorrected

Jun 19, 2007
    Salem, MA
    You don't need an HDMI cable unless you plan on getting HD, and you would need a new box at that point.

The HDMI cable carries Digital HD, and the compenent connections (which the s2 does not have) carries a analog HD signal. They both can carry sd signal.

Both your S2 and DVD playing can only put out a SD signal, and there for, you can hook them up to your hd tv the same way you had them hooked to your tube tv. It will be the same, just no hd.

To get HD you would need a S3/THD/Premiere with a cable card if you have cable, and for dvd, you will need a Blu-Ray player and blu-ray disks, other wise you will be just up scaling your dvd's which may look a little better, but is not hd. A blu-ray player can play all your dvd's by the way.

3. Jonathan_S

Jonathan_S Well-Known Member

Oct 23, 2001
    Northern...