HDMI connection not permitted

Discussion in 'TiVo Bolt DVR/Streamer' started by bryankacz, Jun 10, 2016.

1. bryankacz

bryankacz New Member

May 28, 2007

Advertisements

I went to watch TV this morning and my Tivo is showing "HDMI connection not permitted. Press SELECT for more information".

Pressing SELECT tells me, in short, that my TV does not support HDCP and to use a different cable. However, the bolt only has HDMI, so that isn't an option.

This is my first time seeing this message, I've been using the Tivo with this TV for about 9 months with no issues.

Any ideas where should I start troubleshooting this?

Is this something new that may have been triggered by a software update?

2. aspexil

aspexil Member

Oct 16, 2015
    Have you tried reseating the cable?

3. jrtroo

jrtroo Chill- its just TV

Feb 4, 2008
    Chicagoland
    Or rebooting the box?

4. rjrsouthwest

rjrsouthwest Active Member

Feb 19, 2016
    Just change the TV to another input and then back to the input the Tivo is connected too and you should be good to go.

5. Harris12

Harris12 New Member

Feb 22, 2016

Advertisements

I have my bolt going through a Yamaha receiver and have this problem every time Turn the TV on, switching inputs on the receiver does the trick but it's a pain, there must be a bug in the software somewhere , wish Tivo would find a fix

6. rjrsouthwest

rjrsouthwest Active Member

Feb 19, 2016
    From what you describe the problem is with the receiver not the tivo.

7. twalsh22

twalsh22 Member

Aug 28, 2015
    Try turning on TV first then Yamaha receiver.

Purepain likes this.
  8. NixyCat

NixyCat New Member

Aug 25, 2016