Hate 8300HD, Need Help Please!!!

Discussion in 'DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers' started by instill, Jul 2, 2006.

1. Jul 2, 2006 #1 of 73
    instill

instill New Member

Jul 2, 2006

Advertisements

I absolutely love Tivo, but I just can't go without HD recorded programs. In particular sports and Discovery specials. I've been using the Scientific Atlanta 8300HD from Cox for about seven months now and I'm losing my mind.

This equipment is junk. I even had Cox replace the system with a brand-new, fresh out of the box one because I couldn't believe the first wasn't defective. Turns out it really is just a terrible box with absolutely HORRID software. I then called Scientific Atlanta and asked those guys what the deal was and they told me they, and I quote, "never heard of anyone not liking the 8300HD." They even followed-up by adding, in response to my comments about how much better Tivo's guide works, with "We leave Tivo in the dust."

Amazing. How arrogant can these people possibly be? They have a clearly defective product that needs major work to even compete on the same level as Tivo and yet, they think it's perfect.

Obviously the 8300HD and anything else from Scientific Atlanta isn't going to go anywhere and I need to jump ship.

Which brings me to: I have Cox digital cable and I have absolutely no plans to ever go to satellite. I need an HD-compatible/recordable PVR, preferably Tivo/Tivo-based. Please tell me what to buy! I would rather not wait for the Tivo Series 3 (God, that has taken too damn long already!), but I will probably buy one of those once it comes out too. In the meantime, I need something NOW.

PLEASE HELP! Thank you!

2. Jul 2, 2006 #2 of 73
    tazzmission

tazzmission Active Member

Oct 15, 2002
    North...
    The Series 3 is your only option if you are staying with cable and want to record HD and not use the cable companies DVR. Only problem is the Series 3 is not out yet.

3. Jul 2, 2006 #3 of 73
    Adam1115