Hard Drive Update

Discussion in 'TiVo Upgrade Center' started by Kegger, Jan 8, 2006.

1. Kegger

Kegger New Member

Jan 8, 2006
    Hey everyone,

I'm VERY new to TiVo (today makes 5 days) and I'm already looking to replace my hard drive. My plan is to replace the drive with a 160 GB or more drive and keep the old drive as a backup. This was I'm okay on power and cooling and I won't need more brackets. Anything wrong with this plan?

There's a lot of talk about the Maxtor QuickView drive and I was wondering how important that was. I'd like to get a little more bang for my buck without compromising performance or noise. Are other drives (Western Digital, Hitachi, Seagate) ok and what should I look for in them?

I also read that sometime only 137 GB are recognized on the drive, but other people seem to a resolved this issue. What do I need to do to get the full capacity of the drive?

Lastly (for now), if I get a second TiVo with a good drive can I just swap it out with my current drive and reset it?

Thanks for all your help.

Kegger

2. classicsat

classicsat Astute User

Feb 18, 2004
    Ontario Canada.
    One drive is the way to go.

People like Seagate, WD, and Samsung. You will want a good warranty likely, and them to honor it, even though it is in a DVR, and something quiet.

You need the LBA48 bootCD from PTVUpgrade or Weaknees.

If the "new" unit is the same model (first the digits in the model/TSN the same), you can.

3. blindlemon

blindlemon tivoheaven.co.uk

May 12, 2002
    Malmesbury, UK
    Samsung are the quietest; Seagate have a 5 year warranty. If you can get the Samsung HA250JC then you won't do much better.

4. Kegger

Kegger New Member

Jan 8, 2006
    I though I had to use a SATA-150 drive. Is that not true? If not, does it matter what I use?

5. kschauwe

kschauwe Member

Sep 16, 2003
    Bowling...