1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ham radio transmission causes a reboot

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by TimeShifter2009, May 13, 2018.

1. TimeShifter2009

TimeShifter2009 New Member

Jun 27, 2009
    I’m a ham radio operator and recently became active on the high freq bands especially 40 meters (7mhz).
    I’ve installed a wire antenna (inverted V) on my roof. When I key up my radio at low (10w)or higher (100w) ( fully licensed) power, my roamio ota reboots. I’ve disconnected the cat5 and antenna connection but it still suffers from the RF causing a reboot.
    It’s I’m sure a case of not enough RF shielding in the tivo and as is quite common. RF bypassing isn’t considered at the design level due to the thinking ham radio and CB radio is a thing of the past. Not so and in a true weather disaster as we’ve seen recently, cell and land lines will be unusable. So let’s not go there please.
    I’m going to try and get help from tivo to solve this but my guess is I’m on my own.
    My temp solution is to not operate during peak recording times for shows I watch. Mainly prime time evenings. Probably best to unplug the tivo to prevent any constant reboot damage.
    The next issue will be my neighbors if they own a tivo.
    Good news would be if it’s the one that owns the barking dog that barks all day and weekend nights when they are away.

If any ham radio operators with solutions reads this and has some fix suggestions, thank you in advance.

2. Worf

Worf Well-Known Member

Sep 15, 2000