FAQ or guide to basics on TIVO DVD recorders?

Discussion in 'DVD TiVo Units (Archive)' started by wmshax, Jan 18, 2006.

1. wmshax

wmshax New Member

Jan 1, 2006

Advertisements

Does anyone know of an FAQ or guide to the basics for TIVO DVD recorders with DVD burners? I'm new to TIVO and in the market for a TIVO box with the capability of burning DVDs, but I find it difficult to find any comprehensive discussion of basic issues and features I should look for, brands available, etc. Some of the questions I'm looking to have answered:

a) since I have a high-def TV, I suspect I'll want to record programs at the highest quality possible. Yet the HUMAX DVD burner seems to have a rather small hard disk size--is that an issue? What alternatives are there if I want a larger hard disk and recording capacity?

b) I've learned that TIVO presently doesn't support high-def. But can I hook up a TIVO recorder-burner to my system and still see high-def programming on my cable service, even though I can't record it?

c) It's always important to anticipate what might be coming down the pike. Any news or rumors about when high-def might be supported? Any news or rumors about new recorder-burners that may be coming on the market soon?

Even a site with good side-by-side reviews would be helpful. (And, yes, I've checked out the obvious places like c-net.) Thanks!

2. rkester

rkester a rkester says what?

Jan 10, 2005
    tulsa area,...
    We do need some kind of comprehensive info here for comparing options eh.