Failed - couldn't connect

Discussion in 'TiVo Series 1 - UK' started by leighv, Jan 14, 2006.

1. leighv

leighv New Member

Apr 11, 2003
    I have been using my Tivo for about 4 years - but recently changed providers for telephone/internet/tv (btw - I am in France).

I have been using the dialup without no problems - but as the telephone is now over ip, the tivo is far too far from "the box" that provides this connection. So I have to run a 10m cable every couple of weeks - do a forced dialup.

I have done one - and it worked no problem. Now - I have been trying all day without success. I am not sure whether it is me or the pop. I get the message failed - couldn't connect. Apart from waiting until tomorrow - how can I tell if this is me or the pop? This wouldn't normally be an issue - but I only have 3 days worth of listings left.

2. leighv

leighv New Member

Apr 11, 2003
    And the silence was deafening....

I have listened into the call from the Tivo on another line - and it appears to dial the number (I have tried 2) but does not want to connect. I have also rebooted.

3. blindlemon

blindlemon tivoheaven.co.uk

May 12, 2002
    Malmesbury, UK
    Does the number answer? If you dial that number on your phone, does it get picked up and answered by a modem?

If it does, then maybe you have some line-voltage issues. Have a look here for a few things to try.

4. leighv

leighv New Member

Apr 11, 2003
    Sometimes the modem does not seem to dial the number nor all the numbers. When it does - I am unsure whether there the Tivo modem is actually responding. What do all the different messages mean on the Tivo failure. Is there a glossary somewhere?

I don't have another phone cable long enough so I can't try that at the moment.

I have tried 2 pop numbers in France - same result.

Set Phone Avail Detection and Set Dial Tone Detection are both off.