Ethernet Switch with Roamio Base

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by ukwildcat4life, Jun 30, 2014.

1. ukwildcat4life

ukwildcat4life Member

Apr 13, 2014
    I'm fairly new to Tivo and still learning some things. I have a question. I currently have a Roamio Base and a Mini connected via MoCA... I used two MoCA adaptors: one at my modem/router to create my MoCA network and another is connected to my Roamio Base to bridge the connection. The adaptors I use ( Actiontech ECB2500C) only have one ethernet out port....my problem is at the location of my Roamio Base I need an extra ethernet connection for my Apple TV.....my question is can I buy and use an Ethernet Switch (hub) and connect the ethernet cable from my actiontech adaptor to the switch then use the ethernet switch's ports to go to my Roamio Base and Apple TV or will that setup not be compatible? I know I could buy the actiontech ECB3500T which has four ethernet ports but thats more expensive than buying a switch.....any input is appreciated..thanks!

2. jtso

jtso Member

Oct 2, 2009
    Radford, VA
    I have the same Actiontec adapters as you, and they are quite versatile in how you can use them in combination with ethernet switches. I don't have an Apple TV, but I'm quite confident it will work in your set up.

At the cable entrance to the house, where the cable modem and wifi router are located, I have an Actiontec adapter to set up the MoCa network just like you.

In the den, the coax from the wall is connected to a second Actiontec adapter whose ethernet output goes to a switch. One output goes to a TiVo (an HD in this case), another output goes to a computer, and attached to the computer are some hard drives that I use to store TiVo programs from any of the TiVos I have on the network.