Edge and Hydra

Discussion in 'TiVo Edge' started by waynomo, Sep 7, 2020.

1. Sep 7, 2020 #1 of 13
    waynomo

waynomo My One Time

Nov 9, 2002
    Seven...

Advertisements

Just got an Edge. Is it possible to revert back to TE3? (Hydra is TE4, yes?)

I thought I read that it is not possible to revert the Edge from Hydra to TE3, but wanted to double check.

Last edited: Sep 7, 2020
  2. Sep 7, 2020 #2 of 13
    BigJimOutlaw

BigJimOutlaw Well-Known Member

Mar 21, 2004
    Hydra/TE4 only.

waynomo likes this.
  3. RonH

RonH Member

Apr 18, 2002
    Thanks for the question AND for the answer - just removed it from my cart :)

bobfrank likes this.
  4. synch22

synch22 Member

Dec 30, 2003
    It’s a beautiful machine and works perfectly .. nothing like Hydra on older boxes .

compnurd likes this.
  5. waynomo

waynomo My One Time

Nov 9, 2002
    Seven...

Advertisements

It's taking me a bit of time to get used to it. I've been using the old interface* for almost 20 years.

*Basically they all worked in the same basic way. A few items changed along the way, but essentially it had the same lineage. Hydra, breaks from them mold.

6. RonH

RonH Member

Apr 18, 2002
    Same here, 20 years. I WANTED to like Hydra and intentionally installed it on a Roamio. I spent a few months occasionally working with it. Visually, I liked it. It's understandable that it would be sluggish on a Roamio. From a nav point of view, it was too different and I wasn't interested in memorizing two different methods. So my visit to the forum was to look for the very question posted here.

7. ufo4sale

ufo4sale Well-Known Member

Apr 21, 2001
    Gilbert Arizona
    I use both every day and it doesn't bother me in the least.

8. JoeKustra

JoeKustra in the other Alabama TCF Club

Dec 7, 2012
    Ashland, PA...
    I have both also. When I have a guide error with TE3, I check TE4 since it has updates 3x daily.

9. RonH

RonH Member

Apr 18, 2002