1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVR help

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by John Connell, Sep 10, 2017.

1. John Connell

John Connell New Member

Sep 10, 2017
    I am new to Tivo. Why do recordings start over from the beginning every time you go back to them? I am used to recording multiple NFL games simultaneously, and then switching back in forth between them. For example, I will watch one until I catch up with the live action, and then switch to the other until I catch up with the live action, and then return to the first game.
    I have always done that with both cable and satellite DVRs. But Tivo doesn't pick up where I left off on recorded games, instead it starts the game over each time I go back to it. My question is: AM I not doing it right, or is this a design flaw with TiVo DVR technology?

2. ThAbtO

ThAbtO TiVoholic by the bay

Apr 6, 2000
    SF Bay Area
    Are you using the back button or left arrow when you are switching between shows? Or even pausing before switching?

3. John Connell

John Connell New Member

Sep 10, 2017
    I have tried just hitting the back button to exit the recording, and I have also tried pausing the recording first, and then hitting the back button to exit. The result has been the same.

4. John Connell

John Connell New Member

Sep 10, 2017
    Oh wait. I see. I need to use the left arrow button instead of the back button. Thanks for the help.

5. JoeKustra

JoeKustra in the other Alabama TCF Club

Dec 7, 2012
    Ashland, PA...
    Then try this. When you want to stop watching a game, hit the Live TV button. Now when you want to resume, just move over over the recording and hit the play > button.

6. UCLABB

UCLABB Well-Known Member

May 29, 2012
    Riverside, CA
    I've had TiVos for years and I've never figured this out when watching football. It always goes back to the beginning if the game is still in progress.