Dual tuner not working with comcast, philadelphia

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by mdcubsfan, Jul 28, 2006.

1. mdcubsfan

mdcubsfan New Member

Jul 28, 2006

Advertisements

hi there! newbie here, desparate to see if anyone can help

i've already wasted several hours with tivo and comcast customer support, so if anyone here can help, i'd greatly appreciate it!

just got a DT tivo....went to set it up, did just as instructed....

wall cable line, split; one end into "cable in" on the cable box....other end into "rf in" on the tivo....

in setup, tivo can find the cable box setup without problmes...then it goes to the "basic cable" settings, and can't find any picture....just a black screen....

so i tried plugging in the wall cable line directly into tv to test, channels are totalyl scrambled, they work but they're all over the place...

so then i've been told here in center city, philadelphia, i'm required by comcast to use a digital cable box even though i dont have digital cable...they say otherwise the signal is scrambled....

so then i try plugging a line from the back of the cable box the "to tv/vcr" into the "rf in" on the tivo...again, no signal...that perplexes me since if i plug that directly into tthe tv, i can get a signal that works.....

any suggestions? sorry such a long post/question!!!!!!! thanks in advance

2. timstack8969

timstack8969 Member

May 14, 2004
    I live in Northeast Philly and I can not watch one channel while recording another using my single tuner series 2 because comcast scrambles all of the good channels except local and government channels.

3. funtoupgrade

funtoupgrade New Member

Mar 15, 2005
    The RF connector is for analog only. To make this work you will need the digital cable box and then run the composite cable from it to the TiVo. The analog tuner will only display the non-scrambled channels.

4. mdcubsfan

mdcubsfan New Member

Jul 28, 2006
    thanks for the help and the advice......