Does THR-22 do upscaling?

Discussion in 'DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers' started by spiffy, Feb 6, 2012.

1. spiffy

spiffy New Member

Oct 23, 2002
    Hi everyone,

I am completely new to HD (still using SAT-T60), so I am not familiar with how these new hardware work. Can anyone shed some light on if the THR-22 does upscaling for the SD signals? I am trying to figure out if I need to purchase an upscaling receiver in order to get everything I see on screen to be as close to HD as possible. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

2. Jerry_K

Jerry_K Don't know much

Feb 7, 2002
    Maryland
    What is your display? That would be my first choice for upscaling. If you are using a computer monitor then you can set the resolution of your choice in the THR22-100.

3. spiffy

spiffy New Member

Oct 23, 2002
    It's a 1080P Sammie LCD (P2770HD) that I am borrowing to experiment with the setup, but I don't believe it has any built-in upscaler; because right now I've attached the SAT-T60 to it, and picture quality is not good to say the least. I will be getting a much larger screen eventually; but I'd like to get a confirmation of THR22's capabilities so I can decide on the configurations.

4. TonyTheTiger

TonyTheTiger Pro Troll Magnet

Dec 22, 2006
    No, the THR-22 does not do any form of upscaling.

5. Chris Gerhard

Chris Gerhard Well-Known Member

Apr 27, 2002
    AR
    All 1080p displays scale any source to 1080p. I don't know anything about that particular display and it might not do a good job. As far as the THR-22, no experience but I would be very surprised if it doesn't upscale to its maximum resolution output and if it does, it may or may not do a better job than the display.

6. stevel

stevel Dumb Blond TCF Club

Aug 23, 2000
    Nashua, NH