Do I not undestand Season Passes?

Discussion in 'DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers' started by beagle72, Jan 19, 2006.

1. beagle72

beagle72 New Member

Jan 18, 2006

Advertisements

Hi,

I am new to Tivo/DTivo, coming from UltimateTV. Just setup a Series2 machine. I did 'upgrade' it with the Zipper, but I don't think that is relevent here.

I tried setting up my first Season Pass about an hour before the show's broadcast. This program airs daily on three channels: current series on NBC-E, current series on NBC-W (which I do not get), and old episodes on TV1.

I opened the grid guide and selected today's episode on NBC-E. Set the season pass. The season pass manager appears to show the info correctly for the channel.

However:

a) It did not record today's episode. Is there a waiting period from when you create the season pass to when it starts working?

b) When I go into my Season Pass Manager/Upcoming episodes, it shows the two episodes later today on NBC-W and TV1. I don't get NBC-W and I don't want the old episodes on TV1. Does the Season Pass roam channels and not stick to showings on a single channel?

Is some kind of auto-record wishlist better for this?

Thanks for any advice!
    -beagle

2. HDTivoUser

HDTivoUser Early Adopter

May 2, 2005
    Virginia
    Did you set-up your season pass to record first-run only? If so....was today's ep. a rerun?

3. beagle72

beagle72 New Member

Jan 18, 2006
    I did choose "First Run Only" and today's episode was not a rerun. The same (first run) episode today was on NBC-E and NBC-W. I just don't know why it did not record on NBC-E and shows an upcoming episode (since it is 3 hours behind) on NBC-W, when I did not set the Season Pass on NBC-W.

4. duanej

duanej New Member

Oct 28, 2004
    Seattle, WA
    Look in the To-Do list. Future shows should be listed there. If not, something is wrong with your SP. While there, look in the Recording History as to why it didn't record.

5. SleepyBob