Directv to Comcast and Tivo / Tivo Newbie here

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by Vadi, Mar 13, 2015.

1. Vadi

Vadi Member

Mar 13, 2015

Advertisements

After 5 years with DTV (HDDVRS, no HR34/44) and 4 years with Dish, we're going back to cable. I'm scared, but I'm hoping Tivo makes the transition a good one.

On a budget. Took advantage of the $0 down, $20 a month Tivo basic. Two of them to be exact. Since the second one is going to be adding $30 on top of the bill ($20 + $10 additional outlet fee), I might just hook one up and send the second back.

Thought about getting the Plus for the 2 extra tuners and 1TB, but it is 2" too wide to fit the entertainment center.

HDD will be upgraded after I order a WD20EURX (BB only has the EZRX in stock).

Long story short, how do I mirror the signal to the bedroom tv? using the basic? I see the breakout cables, but can I use the components for an HD mirror with the basic roamio? If so, how do I get audio?

Can I even use component for the basic or does it have to be composite? I'd prefer an HD mirror, but can live with SD until we get the mini in a few months.

If I could get the Plus, I'd run the 5 cable combo, but the plus won't fit.

I'm very excited. Have had DVRs for over 10 years, but this is our first Tivo. Should be here this evening. I can't wait.

2. jrtroo

jrtroo Chill- its just TV

Feb 4, 2008
    Chicagoland
    Why not use a mini instead of a second tivo? Save Comcast fees, lower cost over time for service?

3. BigJimOutlaw

BigJimOutlaw Well-Known Member

Mar 21, 2004
    You'll enjoy the Mini once you get it.

In the meantime the Roamio only works with HDMI and composite. Component isn't an option. The outputs are simultaneous. You could try an hdmi splitter, but I haven't tried it myself.

4. soccergrunt

soccergrunt New Member

Jan 30, 2005
    Indianapolis
    If you are satisfied with SD until you get a Mini, I would just run a composite cable since it is temporary.