DirectTV Hudges TIVO unit problems

Discussion in 'DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers' started by RussZ, Mar 15, 2007.

1. RussZ

RussZ New Member

Mar 15, 2006
    The unit seems to be freezing when I am watching recorded shows. I am also hearing the sound on the movies/shows not sounding correct. When I go through the menus it takes a very long time to open up menus. Any ideas what could be happening? Anything I can do to fix it? I am new to the Tivo world, so please explain in noob terms! :p

Thanks guys.

2. John T Smith

John T Smith New Member

Jun 17, 2004
    Vancouver WA
  3. RussZ

RussZ New Member

Mar 15, 2006
    Welp, now my Tivo won't reboot. I went into the setup to check the messages, and it froze there for 20 min. I tried unplugged it and restarted it and now its stuck at the powering up screen. :( Been that way for 2 hrs.

4. litzdog911

litzdog911 TechKnow Guide

Oct 18, 2002
    Mill Creek,...
    Sorry RussZ .... time to replace/upgrade your Tivo's hard drive.

It's not that hard. You can buy pre-imaged upgrade drives from the store here and other places, like Weaknees and 9thTee. Or you can download some do-it-yourself software tools from DVRUpgrade and use their InstantCake utility to create a new Tivo hard drive using your own PC.

5. wolflord11

wolflord11 Lord of Darkness

Jan 16, 2007
    Madisonville...
    The most common problem with tivo's is the Hard Drive dying. Just think about it. Its like a Computer, except the cooling on most Tivo's is far under par.

Also, a Computer has Defrag Programs, something Tivo is sadly missing.

6. Arcady

Arcady Stargate Fan

Oct 14, 2004
    Philadelphia...
    Defrag is BS. Every person I come across who talks about defrag also has a computer loaded with spyware and a bunch of useless junk.

The drive dies because it is in use 24 hours a day, not because of some magical defrag, which won't do anything to help a hard drive. This is not a 20 meg drive in 1991.

7. DonDon

DonDon New Member