DirecTivo + DirectHD -- need help

Discussion in 'DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers' started by tflitter, Jan 3, 2006.

1. Jan 3, 2006 #1 of 13
    tflitter

tflitter New Member

Jan 3, 2006
    Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this. I'm new here and I can't seem to find anything on this subject yet.

I have a series 2 Directv Tivo that I've been using for a few months now and it seems to work well and I like it. I just bought a directv HD receiver to go with my new TV and I'm using it to get off-air channels right now (working just fine).

I currently have my system setup like this:
    -- Directv Tivo hooked up via S-video to TV and stereo with access card enabled, recording shows and watching locals and directv lineup
    -- Directv HD receiver hooked up via component to TV and stereo with access card DISABLED and right now just using it for over-the-air broadcast of HD and works very well that way

I would like to just have one receiver for all my channels YET keep being able to record directv shows (i know I can't in HD but that is fine). Is there anyway to hook up my Directv Tivo in "series" with my HD receiver and have it record shows? Or something similar? Its a pain right now to have to switch back and forth to the 2 video sources depending upon what I want to watch, etc.

Also -- because I now only have one line going into the Tivo receiver it gives me a message all the time when I switch channels, etc. that it is searching for signal on line 2 -- I press clear and it goes away...but comes back when I change channels -- this is annoying -- any ideas on this too?

I would like to get to the point where I don't have to have both access cards. I don't mind paying the TIVO service -- but would rather not have to pay another $5/month for a the extra receiver, etc. I think I read somewhere on here that you can do this with a "normal tivo" box -- which I don't have -- maybe I should sell this one on ebay and get just a normal tivo box?