TiVo Community Forum banner
  • TiVoCommunity.com Ambassador Program Now Open! >>> Click Here

Create Xfinity App vs requiring CableCard

4K views 21 replies 5 participants last post by  Dan203 
#1 ·
Suggestion:
Create an Xfinity APP (that's also integrated into One Pass) for Roamio OTA vs requiring a physical cablecard to unscramble/access channels.

Reason:
1. Many customers have online and mobile access to Xfinity via family member's subaccounts; especially those away at college in other states.

2. Using an app vs a cablecard is a more efficient use of resources. There's no need for cablecard to unscramble channels (extra step and hardware) when the user can be verified via the Xfinity TV GO app sign in.

Background:
I'm a college student who's family member created an Xfinity subaccount for me to be able to watch live and on demand programming online/via phone from another state.

I bought the Roamio OTA because of One Pass and Xfinity On Demand. Unfortunately, after signing up I found out that there isn't an Xfinity app and that I'd need a cablecard.

I was under the impression that you simply had integrated Xfinity app along with Amazon Instant Video, Netflix and Hulu Plus into the One Pass search feature. That and the tv guide feature would've justified the $15 monthly fee especially since I don't record broadcast tv because of commercials (no need for DVR).

Many channel apps (Showtime, HBO, etc.) are blocked for Comcast customers. I'd hoped, because of your partnership with Comcast/Xfinity, that I would finally have a streaming device that would integrate everything in one.

Note: I already own an Amazon Fire TV with Xfinity TV Go sideloaded. Unfortunately, Amazon has not done what it promised - to integrate it's search engine with results from Netflix and Hulu Plus or I would not have been looking for a solution.

See less See more
#3 ·