Convince me to go TiVo over TWC's leased DVR?

Discussion in 'TiVo Premiere DVRs' started by Skullbussa, Mar 19, 2010.

1. Skullbussa

Skullbussa New Member

Mar 19, 2010

Advertisements

I come here as a complete newbie but after seeing videos of the Premiere in action I am left desiring the much-improved UI of that device over Time Warner Cable's clunky DVR that I am currently leasing.

That said, I am having a really hard time justifying the expense of a TiVo Premiere as it seems to me the dollars just do not add up.

Here is my situation:

-Time Warner cable
    - living room TV connected to leased HD-DVR ($15.25 a month)
    -bedroom TV connected straight to jack, no set-top box

I don't care about having 2 DVRs....one in the living room is enough. However, I would really like to have some sort of box for the bedroom TV so I can have guide access. A non-DVR HD box is $7.50 monthly.

Premiere - $300
    Annual Service - $130 (~$11 a month)
    CableCARD - $2.75 a month

It seems the monthly rate is essentially a wash vs. leasing a DVR. In other words, I'm paying $300 for an upgraded UI. This isn't taking into consideration any technical difficulties I have getting my TiVo configured with TWC, something I don't need to worry about with a leased DVR.

Can someone convince me my #s are wrong or if I am missing some part of the bigger picture?

2. poopsie

poopsie Member

Dec 27, 2003