Comcast and TiVo HD problems

Discussion in 'TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs' started by jms703, Jan 29, 2008.

1. jms703

jms703 New Member

Jan 29, 2008

Advertisements

I'm new to HD. I've moved from an old panasonic with a TiVo Series 2 DT to a new TV and TiVo HD.

Summary: HD channels look fuzzy on my new TV. I'm not impressed at all.

Problems I notice:

• Local SD (ch 2, 3, 5, 7) channels now look significantly worse on my new TV than my old CRT TV.
    • Local HD (ch 702, 703, 705, 707) channels are not sharp, but are fuzzy instead, even KNTV, the local NBC channel at 1080i does not look as good as I had hoped it would.
    • My Toshiba SD-3750 DVD player (480p mode via component) looks nice, but the lines are not clean.
    • Also, I noticed on the Today show on channel 703 on weekday mornings, that when the camera's pan the outdoor audience, there are lots of rectangular blocks on the screen.
    • When watching some 1080i channels, I see what looks like noise (tiny white/gray dots) on the screen flickr on and off. This happens on channel 703, (local nbc hd) all day.
    • Switching channels and going from live TV to the TiVo menu takes forever and a day for the TV to switch resolution. This is probably a TV problem I will have to deal with. I've read that I can try 1080i fixed on the TiVo to speed things up.

What I have:

• Mitsubishi LT-52244 (52" 1080P LCD)
    • TiVo HD (Motorola M-CARD in slot 1)
    • 2 meter HDMI cable from Fry's (not a monster cable) connecting TV and TiVo
    • Comcast "Digital Starter" service in San Jose, CA

Any suggestions or tests I should try?

2. TimAtkins1

TimAtkins1 New Member

Nov 7, 2007
    In my opinion, none of these issues sound like TiVo issues. They sound like issues caused by the combo of Comcast and your TV.

First, many HDTVs handle SD resolution very poorly - said another way, legacy TVs often handle SD better than current HDTVs. It is very dependent on the manufacturer and model of TV.