Clear And Delete

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by cannonz, Nov 9, 2011.

1. Nov 9, 2011 #1 of 19
    cannonz

cannonz Well-Known Member

Oct 22, 2011

Advertisements

A seller on ebay has this in his ad -----No clear & delete (C&DE) everything is needed. (C&DE takes up to 2 hrs for some models so don't waste your Time buying a drive not prepared correctly) ---- I thought you had to cde anytime putting different drive in.

2. Nov 9, 2011 #2 of 19
    Joe01880

Joe01880 I love my TiVo

Feb 8, 2009
    Boston
    If your refering to DVR_DUDE his info is good and his drives are excellent in my experience. I replaced the drive in my Premiere with a 2TB HDD from DVR_DUDE. Im not a programer or comfortable attempting to make my own drive. I wish i was. I took my sweet time, replaced the drive exactly as the included instructions said then closed up my Premiere and followed the guided set up. Having FiOS i didnt need to make any calls or do anything else, easy as pie.
    Im considering buying a 2TB for my TiVo HD from him, only reason i havnt yet is prices have hiked, i can wait to see if they drop around or after the holidays.

Edit: BTW, the 2 TB drive i got from him runs several degrees cooler than the stock drive that came with it. I wont pretend to know why but it does looking in settings/system info. Cooler should be better.

3. Nov 9, 2011 #3 of 19
    lessd

lessd Well-Known Member

Jan 23, 2005
    CT
    Drives can be set up so they will go directly to the first TiVo setup page and not need the user to do his own C&D all.

4. Nov 9, 2011 #4 of 19
    steve614

steve614 what ru lookin at?

May 1, 2006
    Dallas, TX
    He's most likely building his drives from a "clean" image (think InstantCake).
    The only reason you would have to do a C & D, is if the image was from another Tivo hard drive that had been installed and used in another Tivo.

5. unitron

unitron Well-Known Member

Apr 28, 2006
    semi-coastal NC

Advertisements