Clarification request regarding eSATA and external enclosures

Discussion in 'TiVo Upgrade Center' started by Herb EN, Sep 12, 2020.

1. Herb EN

Herb EN New Member

Sep 3, 2020

Advertisements

I am new to upgrading and have been sifting through numerous threads. Sorry if these are "newbie" questions. It is daunting sifting through years of threads and numerous TiVo models.

I have a 1 TB Bolt TE4 and I want to replace the original drive with an external 6TB WD Purple, preferably using an external enclosure. I have read a lot about eSATA problems.

I cannot find an external enclosure with a SATA connection, only eSATA (makes sense "external SATA) and USB. I figure any USB configuration is right out. In the threads it is not always clear whether the troublesome eSATA connection referred to is the external storage connector on the BOLT or an eSATA connection on the external storage enclosure. I would presume the eSATA connection on the external enclosure is pretty much a direct hardwire to the SATA connection on the hard drive. No?

I am considering using a SATA to eSATA cable to connect the MB of the BOLT to the eSATA connection on an external enclosure.

Does this pose a problem? Any recommendations for an external enclosure? Anything to avoid?

I thank you in advance.

2. ThAbtO

ThAbtO TiVoholic by the bay TCF Club

Apr 6, 2000
    SF Bay Area
    Forget the eSATA as it only works with specific Tivo expanders which are no longer made and only adds 500GB or 1TB space for Tivo show storage. Failures anywhere will result in shows lost.

Better to use the external enclosure, bypassing the enclosure connections and connect drive directly to the internal SATA in the Tivo. Power to the drive any way you can.

3. Herb EN

Herb EN New Member

Sep 3, 2020