1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cisco Tuning Adapter (STA1520) Troubles

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by Pete716, Nov 4, 2018.

1. Nov 4, 2018 #1 of 23
    Pete716

Pete716 Member

Aug 28, 2018
    Buffalo, NY
    Hi all - I'm looking for suggestions from those that know more and have more experience than I do.

I'm a Spectrum customer in a legacy TWC area (Buffalo, NY) - I'm fairly new to their tv service after years of satellite and came back to TiVO because it is a better interface and works better than anything else I've ever used.

Anyway, the first 30 days were great - then all hell broke loose with the tuning adapter. It will work for about 8-12 hours at a time. I can power cycle it and sometimes it works again right away, other times it takes 3-4 hours to start working again.

I've called and spoken to the Cable Card group and at this point, they believe it is a signal issue, specifically with the Return Data Carrier at this point.

I've had 3 tech visits that have replaced pretty much every line from the pole to the TiVo and tuning adapter. They put in a zero loss splitter and ran a new line, so now both the tuning adapter and TiVO are connected directly to the splitter. After that, signal levels have improved somewhat. This is where I'm at now for signal levels in the tuning adapter diagnostics:

Tuner: 9 dBmV
    FDC: 13 dBmV
    RDC: 5 dBmV

The RDC seems to fluctuate and will go to 13, 17 and 20 dBmV depending on when I look at it.

The Cable Card group told me that the signal levels should be in these ranges:

Tuner - from -7 to +7 dBmV
    FDC - from -7 to +7 dBmV
    RDC - from +25 to +55 dBmV

In researching, I found the Cisco diagnostic manual for the STA1520, it shows about the same, saying:
    Acceptable range for the tuner is -16 to +15 dBmV and recommended range is -8 to +8 dBmV