Channel reception

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by foreman, Apr 20, 2021.

1. foreman

foreman New Member

Apr 20, 2021

Advertisements

I have had my TiVo Roamio for over 3 years with no problem. I am using an indoor antenna. All of a sudden I find I cannot receive one channel. I have no problem with other channels and I can receive my missing channel on a different TV, also with an indoor antenna. I have rebooted several times.
    I have done channel scans - the channel is checked off and the signal strength is fine. I have tried a different WiFi network to no avail. I always get a V53 error.

2. ThAbtO

ThAbtO TiVoholic by the bay TCF Club

Apr 6, 2000
    SF Bay Area
    Which Roamio do you have? If its the Plus or Pro, these cannot receive OTA channels.

3. foreman

foreman New Member

Apr 20, 2021
    I have a Roamio OTA. I have been receiving this channel for over 3 years and suddenly I cannot receive it, despite a decent signal strength

4. Wil

Wil Unknown Member

Sep 26, 2002
    Sounds like a channel mapping problem.

5. foreman

foreman New Member

Apr 20, 2021

Advertisements

Thank you for your reply. What is to be done about this? This is the ONLY channel I record on the TiVo.

6. HoTatII

HoTatII Active Member

Sep 21, 2016
    When you try to tune to the problem station, look under the TiVo diagnostics and see what it says for "Channel Lock" and "Program Lock" and "Program Number" for that station.

My guess is that the Channel Lock says "Yes", but the Program Lock says "No" and Program Number is blank.

A sudden V53 error for a station with otherwise good signal strength usually means the station is now sending out faulty metadata. And unlike other ATSC tuners the TiVo's are unforgiving of such erroneous control metadata and will simply blackout with a V53 error message like that.