Can you use a non-TiVo branded USB wireless adapter?

Discussion in 'TiVo Premiere DVRs' started by gweempose, Feb 6, 2014.

1. gweempose

gweempose Well-Known Member TCF Club

Mar 23, 2003
    Chicago, IL

Advertisements

I just sold one of my Premiere boxes on eBay yesterday, and the buyer wants to know if they can use a non-TiVo branded USB wireless adapter with it. All of my TiVos are hardwired, so I have no experience in this area. Thanks!

2. CuriousMark

CuriousMark Forum Denizen

Jan 13, 2005
    SoCal
    Series 2 and 3 TiVo DVRs have drivers built-in for a few old wireless B and G adapters. I don't know if those drivers were stripped out for the Premiere or not. Since the Premiere has an Ethernet port, it makes more sense to recommend a Wireless bridge. These are available to support Wireless N and brand should not matter at all. If the buyer has an old USB wireless B or G adapter laying around, he can just try plugging it in to the DVR. If the TiVo recognizes it, then it should work. If the TiVo doesn't recognize it, it definitely won't work. I sincerely doubt the old adapters that were supported can still be found to buy new, though used is possible. There are some ancient threads around here that mention brands and versions that are known to work on the S2 TiVo DVRs.

3. gweempose

Mar 23, 2003
    Chicago, IL
    Thanks for the information! After doing a little research, it appears that TiVo does not officially support the use of third party wireless adapters with the Premiere boxes:

http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/405#L1

This doesn't necessarily mean that other brands won't work, but the buyer is probably better off sticking with the TiVo branded stuff.

4. Donbadabon

Donbadabon Bored TCF Club

Mar 5, 2002
    Nashville, TN
    I am using a Cisco-branded adapter with my Premiere. This was necessary because the last TiVo update broke their ability to work with their own TiVo-branded adapters on the Premiere.