Can two Vox Bolts share a room and remote?

Discussion in 'TiVo Bolt DVR/Streamer' started by lafos, Jul 30, 2018.

1. lafos

lafos Well-Known Member

Nov 7, 2004
    Sioux Falls, SD
    The older TiVos had the ability to carry a remote code, so that two could be in the same room, and with some remotes, share a remote control.

I'm new to Bolt, so don't know how this feature works.

2. JoeKustra

JoeKustra in the other Alabama TCF Club

Dec 7, 2012
    Ashland, PA...
    Are you using Bluetooth, IR or RF?

If IR, then they don't care. If RF, they pair with any Bolt. If BT, I don't know.

3. aaronwt

aaronwt UHD Addict

Jan 31, 2002
    Northern...
    A long time ago TiVo used to have a remote with a slider switch. So you could switch between two remote codes. But those don't exist any more. To use the same remote you would need to use IR and manually change the IR code every time you want to use the different box. It's easier just to have two RF remotes, one dedicated to each TiVo. Or to use a Harmony remote that uses a different IR code for each TiVo. Or you could just have two IR remotes.

krkaufman likes this.
  4. lafos

lafos Well-Known Member

Nov 7, 2004
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I don't have the Bolts yet, so can't answer you. What tech does the Vox function need? I'd guess BT or RF?

5. lafos

lafos Well-Known Member

Nov 7, 2004
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I still have a couple of those remotes, but I was thinking more along the lines of the Harmony. Being new to Bolt (they are just being shipped) I don't know which tech they use for the remotes.

6. krkaufman

krkaufman TDL shepherd

Nov 25, 2003
    No and yes.

You’re thinking of the Infrared remote address, which is still a configurable option in all TiVo boxes and remotes.

Unfortunately...
    • There’s no physical switch on any modern TiVo remote to allow you to configure two different IR remote addresses into a single remote.