Can the Tivo mini work with no internet connection if I only want access to my main Tivo?

Discussion in 'TiVo Mini' started by Michael Quinn, Jun 22, 2017.

1. Michael Quinn

Michael Quinn Semper Fidelis

Jun 22, 2017

Advertisements

I'm not tech savvy, want to get the Tivo Mini, will it work with no internet connection if I only want to watch my main Tivo and don't care about the apps, etc? A non-technical response would be so appreciated.

2. ukwildcat4life

ukwildcat4life Member

Apr 13, 2014

You will have to have an internet connection to use the mini....the mini gets its information and borrows a tuner from the host DVR via an internet connection so you will need to have your host DVR and Mini connected via ethernet or MoCA so they can talk to each other......

Michael Quinn likes this.
  3. JoeKustra

JoeKustra in the other Alabama TCF Club

Dec 7, 2012
    Ashland, PA...
    Not to disagree, but the Mini will operate without an internet connection after the initial configuration. It will complain a lot. Same with the host TiVo also. All anyone needs to do to test this is kill your internet connection and see what works.

Since you will have an Ethernet or MoCA connection, what is stopping your ability to access the internet?

4. Michael Quinn

Jun 22, 2017
    I'm having a hell of a time trying to deal with Tivo and their foreign "customer service". I'm considering buying the Mini from another company just to avoid dealing with them, they're tying up my funds. But before I buy, given that you've said I must have internet let me ask this if I might. I have a tv cable outlet coming out of the wall, both cable and internet come out of that one cable. I'm not familiar with the term "MoCA", but can I plug that cable directly into the Mini or do I need to buy another modem, or use some sort of a splitter?

5. Michael Quinn

Jun 22, 2017

Advertisements